Standards Organizations

The ASN.1 Consortium

The ASN.1 Consortium is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to promote the use of ASN.1 technology. This global initiative will be achieved by the cooperative efforts of organizations that use ASN.1 to define standards and develop applications.

ANSI - American National Standards Institute

The American National Standards Institute is a private-sector, nonprofit, membership organization that facilitates the development of ANS's (American National Standards), and promotes the adoption and use of U.S. standards internationally. ANSI is the sole U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and, via the U.S. National Committee (USNC), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

IEC - International Electrotechnical Commission

The International Electrotechnical Commission is the international standards and conformity assessment body for all fields of electrotechnology. The IEC publishes international standards and technical reports, and tries to promote voluntary international standards and understanding.

IMTC - International Multimedia Teleconferencing Consortium

IMTC promotes the creation and adoption of international standards for multipoint document and video teleconferencing. They maintain information on the T.120 Series Standards for Audiographic Teleconferencing and the H.320 Standards for Videoconferencing

ISO - International Organization for Standardization

The International Organization for Standardization is a non-governmental, worldwide federation of national standards bodies that produces international agreements which are published as International Standards.


The International Telecommunication Union, founded in 1865 as the International Telegraph Union, is a specialized agency for the United Nations. It develops standards, in conjunction with both public and private sectors, that facilitate the worldwide interconnection of telecommunication systems.


The Telecommunication Standardization Sector of the ITU is the sector responsible for telecommunications standards such as ASN.1, OSI, television and sound transmission, multimedia services and systems, etc.


Formerly the National Bureau of Standards, the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) of the U. S. Department of Commerce works to improve quality and promote the rapid commercialization of new technologies. Many free ASN.1-related documents are available for on-line viewing and for download in PostScript format.


OASIS is a not-for-profit, global consortium that drives the development, convergence and adoption of e-business standards. Members themselves set the OASIS technical agenda, using a lightweight, open process expressly designed to promote industry consensus and unite disparate efforts. OASIS produces worldwide standards for security, Web services, XML conformance, business transactions, electronic publishing, topic maps and interoperability within and between marketplaces.

The Open Group - X/Open and OSF

Formed in February, 1996 by the consolidation of X/Open and the Open Software Foundation (OSF), this international consortium works to promote the wide-scale adoption of open, multi-vendor systems.

Unicode Consortium

The Unicode Consortium offers memberships to individuals and corporations for a fee. Members receive copies of the Unicode Standards manual, meetings minutes and more. Note that Unicode characters are represented as type BMPString in the ASN.1 language.

W3C - World Wide Web Consortium

The World Wide Web Consortium was created in October 1994 to lead the World Wide Web to its full potential by developing common protocols that promote its evolution and ensure its interoperability. W3C has around 500 Member organizations from all over the world and has earned international recognition for its contributions to the growth of the Web.